Now Reading:

2020 is serving us a lot of long weekends

2020 is serving us a lot of long weekends

We have to admit it: Vacations are our biggest motivator. Thinking of our booked trips and pending dinners makes our desk jobs more bearable. And I guess that’s what 2020 promises to look like—because it has long weekends aplenty.

Last Nov. 15, President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation 845, confirming the list of holidays—both regular and non-working—for next year.

Here is the list of regular holidays:

Araw ng Kagitingan – Apr. 9 (Thursday)

Maundy Thursday – Apr. 9

Good Friday – Apr. 10

Labor Day – May 1 (Friday)

Independence Day – Jun. 12 (Friday)

National Heroes’ Day – Aug. 31 (Last Monday)

Bonifacio Day – Nov. 30 (Monday)

Christmas Day – Dec. 25 (Friday)

Rizal Day – Dec. 30 (Wednesday)

 

Here is the list of special non-working holidays:

Chinese New Year – Jan. 25 (Saturday)

Edsa People Power Anniversary – Feb. 25 (Tuesday)

Black Saturday – Apr. 11

Ninoy Aquino Day – Aug. 21 (Friday)

All Saints’ Day – Nov. 1 (Sunday)

Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary – Dec. 8 (Tuesday)

Last day of the year – Dec. 31 (Thursday)

 

Here is the list of additional special (non-working) holidays:

All Souls’ Day – Nov. 2 (Monday)

Christmas Eve – Dec. 24 (Thursday)

 

Meanwhile, national holidays in line with Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha are yet to be announced. 

As you can see, many of these dates fall on Monday and Tuesday, which clues us in on where to use our vacation leaves. It’s too early to greet you a Happy New Year, so we’ll give you a congratulatory pat on the back (probably for the hours of sleep you can use next year) instead.

Art by Cathy Dizon

Comments

Jelou Galang
Written by

Input your search keywords and press Enter.