Now Reading:

Imagine Nation’s Fett Boy Line Glorifies The Iconic Boba Fett Helmet

Imagine Nation’s Fett Boy Line Glorifies The Iconic Boba Fett Helmet

Star Wars fever is far from over, friends. Lawrence Aliwalas and Milchy Pe of Imagine Nation Design Studios are coming out with a new custom toy line, Fett Boy, a celebration of Star Wars and the creativity and artistry of the Filipino visual artist. It’s the latest in their series of custom toys based on Star Wars characters, after Trooper Boy (Stormtroopers) and Vader Boy (Darth Vader, obviously). Aliwalas and Pe gave a whole roster of local artists a blank fiberglass and resin handmade Boba Fett helmet—one of the most iconic designs from the franchise—which they are free to paint however they want. The two set no rules for the project; some attach the helms to different bodies, others prefer showcasing the designs by themselves; what remains true is that each work of art is truly the artist’s own, resulting in a multitude of different pieces, statements, and stories. Everyone’s work will be exhibited beginning Saturday, May 8 at the Ronac Art Center in Greenhills, San Juan.

unnamed (1)

(WATCH: The Force Awakens, told using emojis) For Aliwalas, a huge sci-fi fan and a member of the 501st Legion (the official costumers of LucasFilm Worldwide), the project is a symbolism for all the Star Wars fanatics and collectors’ inner child. It’s a reminder to adults of the child that originally became a fan of the movies back in the day. Aliwalas and Pe, who got into the toy business after studying toymaking as part of their fine arts course in the University of Santo Tomas and getting into it as a hobby, are planning to donate part of the proceeds of Fett Boy to charity, in order to promote local artistry. The artists customizing their very own Fett Boys include Aloe Clarino, Bato, Bree Jonson, Brian Bernardo, Bryan Yakut, Chill, Ciane Xavier, Cos Zicarelli, Darrel Ballesteros, Darwin Dacanay, Dee Jae Paeste, Edric Go, Epjey Pacheco, Erica Ng, Gab Baez, Ge Mapa, J. Pacena II, Jagnus Design Studio, James Darryl Esguerra, Karl Gustav, Kris Abrigo, Lee Caces, Maliksi Zaragoza, Marcushiro Nada, Martin Honasan, Mayang Frigillana, Melbourne Aquino, Michael Villagante, Mikhail Lee, Mimi Tecson, Nemo Aguila, Nix Puno, Philip Lee, Punchkick, Renato Barja Jr., Soleil Ignacio, Tof x Anna, Tokwa Peñaflorida, Tyang Karyel, Valerie Chua, Wesley Valenzuela, and Whoop. Photo by Lee Caces


Written by

Input your search keywords and press Enter.